Help with dual booting windows 7?

wad92

FS Member
Ok so im a bit of a noob when it comes to dual booting operating software as i have never had the need for two os's and wanted to ask if i have windows 7 on my primary partition, can i install another windows 7 on the second partition?

I know that you are supposed to install the earlyer os first due to the boot options or something, but im not sure about same versions.

If it helps i currently have Windows 7 Ultimate x86 and wish to dual boot with the tweeked ARC Gamer edition.

It is definitely possible. Although I went through so much trying to do it and couldn't get it to work...but I was using a portable usb hard drive so it gets really weird when booting from it. But you should be able to do it.

This is VERY easy, though I've never done it with Windows 7 yet and I've never tried installing the same OS twice. I really don't see why you'd want to have 2 Win 7 installs, but that's besides the point.

When installing Windows 7, at the beginning at some point you'll get the option to configure the Hard Drive. If there is an option to go Advanced, Do So. Then if it's 1 Hard Drive you're doing this to: Format, Then Create a second Partition from the Free Space you have, make sure you give each partition enough space. You should now have 2 Partitions (maybe 3 sometimes Windows 7 creates a small partition for system shit), Now proceed to install Win 7 on the First Partition you made. After you complete the OS Install and are ready to install the next OS, just boot from the OS CD/DVD again. You'll come to the Configure Hard Drive screen, now select the Second Partition you made and Install. That Easy, I Usually have a Dual Boot of Windows and Linux.

Booting from a USB as a Dual Boot never works well (For me anyway), though I'd be curious to see how it would work with USB 3.

EDIT: